Something reminded me of this today, I’m not sure what.

 

I was probably eight or ten years old, and my parents and I were making a rare visit to a “nice” restaurant (ie: cloth napkins, tablecloth, no plastic trays) and I was mad about something.

 

I don’t remember what set me off, but I suspect that I wasn’t allowed to order what I wanted, and so I was in a snit. When a very polite young waitress set my meal in front of me, she made the mistake of trying to be nice to a snotty little kid, and said, “Mmm…doesn’t that look good?”

 

My reply was out before I even knew I was going to say something (a situation that still occasionally occurs…) and I muttered, “Looks like something I stepped in yesterday!”

 

There was a LONG pause at the table as the waitress vapor-locked, and both of my parents turned red; Mom with embarrassment, Dad with rage…and I had a moment to consider all the things I had wanted to do in my life, which was now about to end.

 

Obviously, I lived…but I have no recollection of the rest of the events that evening, which is probably for the best. I’m certain, however, that it was some time before I SAT at a table again, with or without a tablecloth.

 

My concern now: if Gracie inherits her Mommy’s brains, and my inability to self-censor any dumb thing that pops into my head…there could be a lot of embarrassing moments in my future.

 

I’m sure both of my parents are smiling in heaven, at the thought.

 

So…take a minute and tell us about the most embarrassing thing you ever did to YOUR parents…(or what your kids have done to you.)

 

-Gracie’s Daddy

 

