Hey all,Okay, so it’s three o’clock pm and, per the books, I sit down, once again with the girl and six ounces of this nasty crap that “Babies ‘r’ Expensive” calls “Rice Cereal.”

Every time we go through this ritual, Gracie cries with every spoonful.

Of course she cries, have you tasted this stuff??? Ugh!

Over the course of my life as a poor kid (and later, a poor missionary,) I’ve eaten some stuff I’d rather not admit to, and it all tasted better than this.

So, today I said, “Enough is enough!” I’ve tried it “their” way, I read what the books suggested and I’ve been faithful to adhere to those suggestions. It tastes like sludge and it makes my daughter cry…

Not anymore.

I just happened to have a pan full of pot-roast left over from last night’s dinner. In a fit of self-righteous outrage, I dumped a couple of spoonfulls into the cuisineart and pureed it. Roast beef, seared potatoes, carrots, onions, celery, garlic…

You know what? She loved it!

Of course she loved it, she’s a Perkins. She’s the fifth generation (that we know of) of cooks and chef’s, and, by golly, some tasteless sludge isn’t gonna do for her, no matter how cute the packaging. My baby has taste-buds and she wants real food!

Rice cereal might be fine for some, but to quote my mother-in-law, that’s for “other people’s babies, not ours!” Dixie, I could not agree more.

I’ve never been prouder than I am right now.

Tomorrow night….lasagna.

That’s my girl!

-Perk

