papertowels.jpg

Hey all,

Okay, so I was in the kitchen this morning, trying to finish my breakfast, pour a 3rd cup of coffee, and get Gracie’s bottle ready when it happened…I knocked over yesterdays diet Dr. Pepper and created a puddle that stretched from the northern counter to the southern reaches of the kitchen floor.

Then, I did what any of us would do (no, not cursing, the rest of you might not do that)… I reached for the roll of paper towels.

That got me thinking (okay, it’s been a slow morning)…is THIS the greatest invention ever?

I mean c’mon…I make a mess, I grab a handful of disposable paper towels and voilah! (sp?) problem solved! I mean, think about it, a couple of centuries ago they had to use a “cloth” which had to be spun from wool or cotton, hand-loomed, purchased at the market, and then hand washed in a basin of wood-fire heated water!

That’s no way to live!

So, in honor of one of the greatest inventions of all time, here are couple of historical facts:

Scott Paper Company was founded by brothers E. Irvin and Clarence Scott in Philadelphia in 1879. SCOTT® Brand Tissue with 1,000 sheets was introduced at a cost of 10 cents per roll. It was considered a medical item; print ads were used to increase awareness and address embarrassment.

In 1931, Scott introduced the first paper towel for the kitchen and created a whole new grocery category. He made perforated rolls of “towels” thirteen inches wide and eighteen inches long. That is how paper towels were born. It was to take many years, however, before they gained acceptance and replaced cloth towels for kitchen use.

If, like me, you’re sitting around in your underwear with nothing better to do, take a look at the kimberly-clark website and read the rest of the amazing history of the paper-towel.

-Perk

